WBCS Prelims 2017 Indian National Movement Question and Solution



          In West Bengal Civil Service (WBCS) Preliminary Examination 2017, total of 33 questions was asked from Indian National Movement.

1. The author of ‘Neel Darpan’ was

[A]  Rabindranath Tagore        

[B]  Dinabandhu Mitra       

[C]  Girish Chandra Ghosh       

[D] Bipin Chandra Pal

Correct Answer: [B]  Dinabandhu Mitra       

2. The leader of the Munda rebellion (Ulgulan) was

[A]  Sidho

[B]  Birsa 

[C]  Bapat

[D] Korra Malya

Correct Answer: [B]  Birsa 

3. The custom of ‘Sati’ was banned through legis­lation in the year
[A]  1795

[B]  1800

[C]  1829

[D] 1858

Correct Answer: [C]  1829

4. The nationalist organisation ‘Poona Sarvajanik Sabha’ was established in the year

[A]  1870

[B]  1885

[C]  1890

[D] 1990

Correct Answer: [A]  1870

5. The first session of the Indian National Congress in 1885 was held in the city of
[A]  Calcutta

[B]  Bombay

[C]  Madras   

[D] Allahabad

Correct Answer: [B]  Bombay

6. The Younghushand Mission to Tibet was sent by which Viceroy?

[A]  Ripon

[B]  Lytton 

[C]  Mayo      

[D] Curzon

Correct Answer: [D] Curzon

7. Who was the founder of the Harijan Sevak Sangh?

[A]  B G Tilak         

[B]  N M Lokhandy       

[C]  M K Gandhi       

[D] B R Ambedkar

Correct Answer: [C]  M K Gandhi       

8. Dewan Velu Thampi’s rebellion against the British took place in the Indian state of

[A]  Awadh  

[B]  Kashmir 

[C]  Travancore

[D] Mysore

Correct Answer: [C]  Travancore

9. In which year was the Indian National Congress established?

[A]  1883

[B]  1885

[C]  1891

[D] 1905

Correct Answer: [B]  1885

10. “Swaraj is my birth right” -who said?

[A]  Lala Lajpat Rai        

[B]  Aurobindo Ghosh      

[C]  Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose      

[D] Bal Gangadhar Tilak

Correct Answer: [D] Bal Gangadhar Tilak

11. Which political party was founded in 1906?

[A]  Bharat Sabha        

[B]  Muslim League        

[C]  Bengal Zamindars League       

[D] Communist Party of India

Correct Answer: [B]  Muslim League        

12. With which Revolt names of Sidhu and Kanu are associated?

[A]  Santhal

[B]  Chakma        

[C]  Khasi 

[D]  Indigo

Correct Answer: [A]  Santhal

13. Who was the Governor General of India at the time of the outbreak of the Revolt of 1857?
[A]  William Bentinck       

[B]  Lord Cornwallis       

[B]  Lord Canning       

[D] Lord Dalhousie

Correct Answer: [B]  Lord Canning       

14. Who was the President of the First Session of the Indian National Congress?

[A]  Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee    

[B]  Surendra Nath Banerjee        

[C]  Firoz Shah Mehta       

[D] A.O. Hume

Correct Answer: [A]  Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee    

15. Which phase is considered to be the liberal phase of Indian National Congress?

[A]  1885-1895         

[B]  1885-1905         

[C]  1905-1915        

[D] 1885-1925         

Correct Answer: [B]  1885-1905         

16. The Partition of Bengal was annulled in the year

[A]  1907

[B]  1909

[C]  1911

[D] 1914

Correct Answer: [C]  1911

17. On the eve of which movement Mahatma Gandhi gave the slogan of “Do or Die”?

[A]  Khilafat movement        

[B]  Naval Revolt        

[C]  Quit India movement       

[D] Dalit-Harijan movement

Correct Answer: [C]  Quit India movement       

18. Who was the founder of the ‘Forward Bloc’?
[A]  Subhas Chandra Bose        

[B]  Rashbehari Bose         

[C]  Chittaranjan Das        

[D] C. Rajagopalachari

Correct Answer: [A]  Subhas Chandra Bose        

19. After which incident the Non-Cooperation move­ment was withdrawn by Mahatma Gandhi?

[A]  Chauri Chaura incident        

[B]  Rowlatt Act        

[C]  Jallianwala Bagh massacre        

[D] Dandi March

Correct Answer: [A]  Chauri Chaura incident        

20. In which year was the Lucknow Pact signed between the Muslim League and the Indian National Congress?

[A]  1907

[B]  1911

[C]  1916

[D] 1919

Correct Answer: [C]  1916

21. _____ was the centre of the Aligarh movement.

[A]  The Deoband School      

[B]  The Anglo-Oriental College      

[C]  Pir-Fakir Majlis      

[D] The Khilafat Committee

Correct Answer: [B]  The Anglo-Oriental College      

22. The Morley-Minto Reform was declared in the year ______ .

[A]  1907

[B]  1909

[C]  1911

[D] 1919

Correct Answer: [B]  1909

23. When and where did the Jallianwala Bagh massacre take place?

[A]  1906, Amritsar       

[B]  1906, Lahore       

[C]  1919, Karachi       

[D] 1919. Amritsar

Correct Answer: [D] 1919. Amritsar

24. In which year the Pakistan resolution was adopted by the Muslim League and where ?

[A]  1929, Lahore        

[B]  1930, Allahabad        

[C]  1940, Lahore       

[D] 1940, Dhaka

Correct Answer: [C]  1940, Lahore       

25. In its Lahore Session (1929), which of the following was declared to be the aim of the Indian National Congress?

[A]  Complete Independence       

[B]  Dominion Status        

[C]  Quit India       

[D] None of the above

Correct Answer: [A]  Complete Independence       

26. Who was the founder of the ‘Azad Hind Fauz’?

[A]  Subhas Chandra Bose       

[B]  Rashbehari Bose       

[C]  Shah Nawaz Khan       

[D] Captain Mohan Singh

Correct Answer: [D] Captain Mohan Singh

27. Who considered the proposals of the Cripps’ Mission as a ‘post-dated cheque’?

[A]  Moulana Abul Kalam Azad       

[B]  Sardar Ballabhbhai Patel       

[C]  Mahatma Gandhi       

[D] B.R. Ambedkar

Correct Answer: [C]  Mahatma Gandhi       

28. Which Party gave a call for ‘Direct Action’ and which date was chosen as the ‘Direct Action Day’ ?

[A]  Muslim League; 16th August, 1946

[B]  Indian National Congress ; 8th August, 1942

[C]  The Hindu Mahasabha; 3rd June, 1946

[D] Indian National Army; 18th August, 1945

Correct Answer: [A]  Muslim League; 16th August, 1946

29. Which Mission Commission visited India in 1946?

[A]  Cripps’ Mission       

[B]  Cabinet Mission        

[C]  Simon Commission       

[D] Hunter Commission

Correct Answer: [B]  Cabinet Mission        

30. When did the Chittagong Armoury Raid take place and who was its chief organizer ?

[A]  1930, Surya Sen

[B]  1929, Batukeshwar Datta

[C]  1929, Sachindra Nath Sanyal

[D] 1930, Ram Prasad Bismil

Correct Answer: [A]  1930, Surya Sen

31. The Indian Independence Act was passed in

[A]  July, 1947      

[B]  June, 1946       

[C]  August, 1947      

[D] August, 1946

Correct Answer: [A]  July, 1947      

32. Who was the First Governor General of independent India?

[A]  Chakravarti Rajagopalachari      

[B]  Clement Attlee      

[C]  Lord Wavell       

[D] Lord Mountbatten

Correct Answer: [D] Lord Mountbatten

33. Who was the First Governer General of Pakistan ?

[A]  Lord Mountbatten       

[B]  Mohammad Ali Jinnah     

[C]  Syed Amir Ali      

[D] Mohammed Seikh Abdullah

Correct Answer: [B]  Mohammad Ali Jinnah     

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Scroll to Top
Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Don’t lose out on any important Post and Update. Learn every day with Exam Prostuti.

 Enter your email address to subscribe!