WBCS Prelims 2016 Indian National Movement Question and Solution



        In West Bengal Civil Service (WBCS) Preliminary Examination 2016, total of 32 questions was asked from Indian National Movement.

1. “Hind Swaraj” was written by Gandhi while

[A]  Travelling from England to India by ship

[B]  In Sabarmati Ashram

[C]  Travelling from England to South Africa by ship

[D] During Champaran Satyagraha

Correct Answer: [C]  Travelling from England to South Africa by ship

2. One of the following was not a member of Cabinet Mission.
[A]  Sir Stafford Cripps       

[B]  Lord Wavell       

[C]  Sir Pethic Lawrence        

[D] A. V. Alexandar

Correct Answer: [B]  Lord Wavell       

3. Who is Pioneer of Economic Nationalism?

[A]  Bipin Chandra Pal       

[B]  Gokhale

[C]  R. C. Dutt        

[D] M. M. Malviya

Correct Answer: [C]  R. C. Dutt        

4. ‘Swaraj Party’ took part in the election in—

[A]  1923,  1926         

[B]  1919,  1923         

[C]  1920,  1926       

[D] 1919,  1920

Correct Answer: [A]  1923,  1926         

5. The Moplah rebellion of 1921 broke out in –

[A]  Assam

[B]  Kerala

[C]  Punjab 

[D] Bengal

Correct Answer: [B]  Kerala

6. Who was the Congress President when India became free?

[A]  Mahatma Gandhi        

[B]  Jawaharlal Nehru        

[C]  J. B. Kripalani        

[D] Sardar Patel

Correct Answer: [C]  J. B. Kripalani        

7. ‘The Mohammedan Anglo-Oriental Defence Association’ was started by –
[A]  Sir Sayed Ahmad Khan       

[B]  T. Beck     

[C]  A. S. Samuelsen       

[D] M. M. Mulk

Correct Answer: [A]  Sir Sayed Ahmad Khan       

8. Stafford Cripps was a member of the —

[A]  Conservative Party       

[B]  Labour Party       

[C]  Liberal  Party       

[D] Official Party

Correct Answer: [B]  Labour Party       

9. The English set up their first factory on Indian soil in 1621 at – 

[A]  Goa 

[B]  Surat

[C]  Calicut

[D] Madras

Correct Answer: [B]  Surat

10. Ranjit Singh was a leader of the —

[A]  Sukerchakia misl       

[B]  Bhangi misl       

[C]  Kanheya misl        

[D] Gobind misl

Correct Answer: [A]  Sukerchakia misl       

11. Who committed the murder of sir Curzon Wyllie in 1907?
[A]  B. N. Dutta       

[B]  M. L. Dhingra       

[C]  Sardar Ajit Singh      

[D] S. C. Chatterjee

Correct Answer: [B]  M. L. Dhingra       

12. Who was the Viceroy of India when the Quit India Movement started in 1942?

[A]  Linlithgow

[B]  Wilington

[C]  Wavell 

[D] Minto

Correct Answer: [A]  Linlithgow

13. Tipu’s final defeat came at the hands of —

[A]  Lord Wellesley        

[B]  Lord Cornwallis        

[C]  Lord Dalhousie       

[D] John Shore

Correct Answer: [[A]  Lord Wellesley        

14. Who organised ‘Anushilan Samiti’?
[A]  Jatin Das      

[B]  Batukeshwar Dutta       

[C]  P. Mitra       

[D] Aswini Kumar Dutta

Correct Answer: [C]  P. Mitra       

15. In which of the following provinces was a Congress Ministry not formed under the Act of 1935?

[A]  Bihar 

[B]  Madras 

[C]  Orissa 

[D] Punjab

Correct Answer: [D] Punjab

16. Who laid the foundation of the ‘Theosophicai Society’?

[A]  Henry Dirozeo      

[B]  Annie Besant       

[C]  Sister Nivedita        

[D] Madame H. P. Blavatsky

Correct Answer: [D] Madame H. P. Blavatsky

17. Who started the newspaper Shom Prakash?

[A]  Dayananda Saraswati        

[B]  Raja Rammohan Roy 

[C]  Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar      

[D] Surendranath Banerjee

Correct Answer: [C]  Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar      

18. What was the number of the Princely States in India at the time of Partition ?

[A]  555

[B]  558

[C]  560

[D] 562

Correct Answer: [D] 562

19. In collaboration with David Hare and Alexander Duff who of the following established Hindu College at Calcutta ?
[A]  HLV Derozio      

[B]  Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar      

[C]  Keshab Chandra Sen       

[D] Raja Rammohan Roy

Correct Answer: [D] Raja Rammohan Roy

20. Who declared the Communal Award in 1932?

[A]  Jinnah 

[B]  Syed Ahmed        

[C]  Ramsay Macdonald        

[D] Lord Curzon

Correct Answer: [C]  Ramsay Macdonald        

21. Which one of the following began with Dandi March?

[A]  Home Rule Movement       

[B]  Non-Co-operation Movement

[C]  Civil Disobedience Movement        

[D] Quit India Movement

Correct Answer: [C]  Civil Disobedience Movement        

22. Who characterised the partition of India as “a surrender of nationalism in favour of communalism”?
[A]  Saifuddin Kitchlew        

[B]  M. N. Roy      

[C]  C. Rajagopalachari       

[D] Moulana Md. Ali

Correct Answer: [A]  Saifuddin Kitchlew        

23. Which religious reform movements of the following influenced nationalism in India?

[A]  Brahmo Samaj        

[B]  Arya Samaj        

[C]  Ramakrishna Mission        

[D] All of the above

Correct Answer: [D] All of the above

24. In its which session did the Indian National Congress pass the Social Democratic Resolution?

[A]  Delhi 

[B]  Lahore   

[C]  Pune 

[D] Surat

Correct Answer: [B]  Lahore   

25. During whose Governor-Generalship, Indian Civil Service (I.C.S.) was introduced?

[A]  Lord Dalhousie        

[B]  Lord Curzon       

[C]  Lord William Bentinck       

[D] Lord Cornwallis

Correct Answer: [D] Lord Cornwallis

26. Who wrote the book ‘Drain of Wealth’ ?

[A]  J. L. Nehru        

[B]  Dadabhai Naoroji       

[C]  Mahatma Gandhi       

[D] R. C. Dutt

Correct Answer: [B]  Dadabhai Naoroji       

27. Andaman and Nicobar Islands, the first two Indian territories liberated in 1944 under Provisional Govt. of Azad Hind renamed as ____

[A]  Martyrs’ Lands       

[B]  “Sahid” and “Swaraj” Islands      

[C]  Azad Hindustan       

[D] Jai Hind Islands

Correct Answer: [B]  “Sahid” and “Swaraj” Islands      

28. When and under whom was the Indian National army (I.N.A.) officially organized?

[A]  Rashbehari Basu, 1942

[B]  Subhas Chandra Basu, 1943

[C]  Captain Mohan Singh at Singapore in 1942

[D] None of the above

Correct Answer: [C]  Captain Mohan Singh at Singapore in 1942

29. In which year the ‘Great Escape’ of Subhas Chandra Bose to Germamy take place ?

[A]  1939

[B]  1940

[C]  1941

[D] 1942

Correct Answer: [C]  1941

30. What was the direct cause of the rise of Extremism in the Indian National Movement?

[A]  The Govt, did not pay heed to moderates

[B]  Oppression by the Britishers on the Indians

[C]  The Partition of Bengal

[D] Rise of revolutionary terrorism

Correct Answer: [C]  The Partition of Bengal

31. Servants of India Society was founded by:

[A]  G. K. Gokhale       

[B]  M. G. Ranade       

[C]  B. G. Tilak       

[D] V. D. Savarkar

Correct Answer: [A]  G. K. Gokhale       

32. Hind Mazdoor Sangh was founded by :    

[A]  N. M. Joshi        

[B]  V. B. Patel       

[C]  G. L. Nanda        

[D] Dadabhai Naoroji

Correct Answer: [C]  G. L. Nanda        

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Scroll to Top
Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Don’t lose out on any important Post and Update. Learn every day with Exam Prostuti.

 Enter your email address to subscribe!