WBCS Prelims 2014 Indian National Movement Question and Solution



   In West Bengal Civil Service (WBCS) Preliminary Examination 2014, total 32 questions was asked from Indian National Movement.

1. What proposals were made in the ‘August Offer’?

[A]  Complete independence of India gradually

[B]  Dominion Status

[C]  Provincial autonomy

[D] Representative government at the centre

Correct Answer: [B]  Dominion Status

2. A complete outcome of the Wavell plan was the

[A]  Holding of a referendum in the N W frontier province

[B]  Absorption of the State of Hydrabad with the Indian Union

[C]  Summoning of Simla Conference

[D] The Constitution of the Content Assembly

Correct Answer: [C]  Summoning of Simla Conference

3. The Congress President who conducted negotiation with Cripps in 1942 and Wavell at the Shimla Conference was

[A]  Abul Kalam Azad       

[B]  Jawaharlal Nehru       

[C]  J. B. Kripalani       

[D] C. Rajagopalachari

Correct Answer: [A]  Abul Kalam Azad       

4. Who among the following attended the first session of the Round Table Conference?
[A]  Tej Bahadur Sapru        

[B]  M. K. Gandhi       

[C]  Abul Kalam Azad        

[D] S. C. Bose

Correct Answer: [A]  Tej Bahadur Sapru        

5. Why was the Simon Commission boycotted by the Congress ?
[A]  As it did not include any representative of the Congress.

[B]  As it included a member of the Muslim League.

[C]  As it negated the claim of the Indians to determine their own constitution.

[D] As it was appointed one year before.

Correct Answer: [A]  As it did not include any representative of the Congress.

6. Who among the following was not a member of the Congress Socialist Party ?

[A]  Achyut Patwardhan       

[B]  Jawaharlal Nehru

[C]  Jayaprakash Narayan    

[D] Acharya Narendra Dev

Correct Answer: [B]  Jawaharlal Nehru

7. The president of the India National Congress at the time of independence was

[A]  Mauiana Abul Kalam Azad       

[B]  Jawaharlal Nehru       

[C]  Dr. Rajendra Prasad        

[D] J. B. Kripalani

Correct Answer: [D] J. B. Kripalani

8. In which year was passed the Congress resolution on Fundamental Rights and National Economic Policy ?
[A]  1940

[B]  1931

[C]  1921

[D] 1935

Correct Answer: [B]  1931

9. Who founded the All India Trade Union Congress?

[A]  N. M. Joshi       

[B]  M. K. Gandhi       

[C]  S. C. Bose      

[D] N. M. Samarth

Correct Answer: [A]  N. M. Joshi       

10. Who among the following founded a national paper, a national school and a national gymnasium in the second half 

[A]  Jatindranath Tagore        

[B]  Rajnarayan Bose       

[C]  Nabagopal Mitra       

[D] Satyendranath Tagore

Correct Answer: [C]  Nabagopal Mitra       

11. The tribal rebellion against the British Known as UIgulan was organised by
[A]  Korra Mallya        

[B]  Ranade 

[C]  Birsa Munda        

[D] Konda Dora

Correct Answer: [C]  Birsa Munda        

12. In which year did the Congress Ministries start functioning in the provinces?

[A]  1937

[B]  1930

[C]  1948

[D] 1938

Correct Answer: [A]  1937

13. The last British Viceroy in India was

[A]  Lord Wavell       

[B]  Lord Mountbatten        

[C]  Lord Linlithgow      

[D] Attlee

Correct Answer: [B]  Lord Mountbatten        

14. The center of Portuguese power in India was

[A]  Cochin

[B]  Calicut  

[C]  Bijapur

[D] Goa

Correct Answer: [D] Goa

15. Who founded the Indian Reform Association in 1870 ?
[A]  Ram Mohan Roy       

[B]  Debendranath Tagore

[C]  Keshab Chandra Sen       

[D] Iswar Chandra Vidyasagar

Correct Answer: [C]  Keshab Chandra Sen       

16. Who was the Governor-General of India during the revolt of 1857 ?

[A]  Canning   

[B]  Dalhousie

[C]  Elgin

[D] Ripon

Correct Answer: [A]  Canning   

17. Where did the Theosophical Society establish its headquarters in India ?
[A]  Adyar  

[B]  Belur  

[C]  Avadi    

[D] Vellore

Correct Answer: [A]  Adyar  

18. Which one of the following newspapers/journals was from Maharashtra ?

[A]  Kranti  

[B]  Atmasakti   

[C]  Sarathi  

[D] Sandhya

Correct Answer: [A]  Kranti  

19. Who founded the Asiatic Society ?
[A]  David Hare       

[B]  Alexander Duff       

[C]  H. V. Derozio      

[D] William Jones

Correct Answer: [D] William Jones

20. Who became Viceroy of India after Lord Irwin ?

[A]  Lord Wavell       

[B]  Lord Reading       

[C]  Lord Willingdon       

[D] Lord Linlithgow

Correct Answer: [C]  Lord Willingdon       

21. Who elaborated the Drain of Wealth theory propounded by Dada Bhai Naorogi ?

[A]  M.G. Ranade      

[B]  R. G. Tilak      

[C]  G.K. Gokhale      

[D] Feroz Shah Mehta

Correct Answer: [A]  M.G. Ranade      

22. Who was the founder President of the Indian National Congress ?

[A]  W.C. Banerjee       

[B]  S.N. Banerjee       

[C]  G.K. Gokhale      

[D] A.O. Hume

Correct Answer: [A]  W.C. Banerjee       

23. Which one of the following is known as the ‘Magna-Carta’ of English Education in India ?
[A]  Charter of Act of 1813        

[B]  Indian Education Commission’s Report of 1882

[C]  Indian Universities Act of 1904      

[D] Educational Despatch of 1854

Correct Answer: [D] Educational Despatch of 1854

24. Who was the author of the book ‘Eighteen Fifty Seven’ ?
[A]  S. N. Sen       

[B]  R. C. Majumdar      

[C]  Syed Ahmad Khan      

[D] R. C. Bhandarkar

Correct Answer: [A]  S. N. Sen       

25. The I.N.A. under Subhas Chandra Bose surrendered to the British after the collapse of

[A]  Germany  

[B]  Italy    

[C]  Japan   

[D] After the cessation of World War II

Correct Answer: [C]  Japan   

26. The first National News Agency India was

[A]  The Indian Review       

[B]  The Free Press of India

[C]  The Hindustan Review       

[D] The Associated Press of India

Correct Answer: [B]  The Free Press of India

27.Who amongst the following communities opposed the llbert Bill vigorously?

[A]  The Hindus      

[B]  The Muslims       

[C]  Anglo Indian Community      

[D] AII of the above

Correct Answer: [C]  Anglo Indian Community      

28. Which one of the following was a mouth piece of the Liberals?

[A]  Now India       

[B]  Leader  

[C]  Young India       

[D] Free Press Journal

Correct Answer: [B]  Leader  

29. In the Nehru Report Committee (1928) the Liberal Federation was represented by
[A]  M. R. Jayakar        

[B]  Tej Bahadur Sapru       

[C]  V. S. Srinivasa Sastri       

[D] M. S. Aney

Correct Answer: [B]  Tej Bahadur Sapru       

30. The immediate cause for the launching of Non Co-operation Movement was the

[A]  Khilafat Wrong / Movement        

[B]  Rowlatt Act 

[C]  Jallian Walla Bagh massacre       

[D] Dissatisfaction with the Government of India Act, 1919

Correct Answer: [A]  Khilafat Wrong / Movement        

31. Who among the following was not the active leader of the Brahmo Samaj ?

[A]  Devendra Nath Tagore       

[B]  Keshab Chandra Sen

[C]  Akshay Kumar Datta       

[D] Swami Vivekananda

Correct Answer: [D] Swami Vivekananda

32.Who among the following was the founder of Khudai Khidmatgar Organisation?
[A] Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan      

[B] Abdul Rab Nishtar  

[C] Shaukatullah Ansari       

[D] Khan Abdul Quayumkhan

Correct Answer: [A] Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan      

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 4

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Scroll to Top
Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Don’t lose out on any important Post and Update. Learn every day with Exam Prostuti.

 Enter your email address to subscribe!